Patron The Baroness Mallalieu, QC

Committee August 2020 – May 2021

Name Position Retirement Date
Clare Phillips Breed Show Secretary Retires AGM 2021
Rob Taylor ECHO Retires AGM 2021
Dr Sue Baker Honorary Vice-President Retires AGM 2022
David Brewer Trustee Retires AGM 2022 (replacing Jenna Payne)
Geoff Bryant Vice-Chairman Retires AGM 2023
Vicky Lamb Trustee Retires AGM 2023
David Wallace Vice-Chairman Retires AGM 2023
Sue Burger Trustee Retires AGM 2024
Nigel Hill Chairman Retires AGM 2024
Stephanie Poulter Trustee Retires AGM 2024

Committee members may be contacted by telephone, email or by postal address – their details are available here. If you have a question for all the Trustees or would like to bring a matter to their attention then please send your request to the Secretary ( who will then forward it to all concerned.
Thank you.


Trustees of the Society are elected each year by the membership.  The Council consists of 12 members, 3 of whom step down each year on a rotational basis.  Trustees stepping down after a four year period, may seek re-election and, if elected, serve another four year term.  Trustees stepping down after serving two four year periods may not put themselves forward for re-election until the following year.

Elections take place each year prior to the Annual General Meeting held on the 1st Wednesday in May.  If you are a member of the Society and would be interested in becoming a Trustee of the Exmoor Pony Society then please contact the Secretary (

Nomination forms are available from the Secretary and should be returned, duly completed, not less that 35 clear days prior to the AGM.

For information on the role of a Trustee, please visit and read The essential trustee: what you need to know, what you need to do.


At the Annual General Meeting in each year the Charity shall appoint two members of the Charity (whether or not already being members of the Committee) to be President and President-Elect from the conclusion of that meeting until the conclusion of the next following Annual General Meeting. If any President so elected shall die or otherwise vacate office before expiration of his or her term of office the President-Elect shall automatically become President for the remainder of such term. Associate Members and Junior Members shall not be eligible to become President or President-Elect. The President and the President Elect shall be eligible for re-election.

Normal practice is for the President Elect to become President in the year following their appointment. No person shall be appointed to the office of President or President-Elect unless not less than three nor more than thirty five clear days before the date appointed for the annual general meeting notice has been given to the Charity of the intention to propose that person for appointment together with a notice executed by that person of his willingness to be appointed.

Privacy Notice

The Exmoor Pony Society is committed to protecting and respecting your privacy. This policy sets out the basis on which any personal data we collect from you, or that you provide to us may be used. This data may include your name, address, email address and telephone number.

For all equine passport applications and transfers of ownership, your name and address together with the equine’s details will be recorded on our database and supplied to the Central Equine Database as required under the legislation. These details may also be requested by DEFRA and equivalent organisations in Scotland and Wales as well as enforcement bodies such as Trading Standards, Food Standard Agency and the Police.

In addition to the above, data held on ponies registered in Section 1 and their breeder’s name and address will be published in the Society’s stud book print outs and on the online studbook where breeders/owners can also opt to have their details including telephone and email contacts.

Membership details will also be recorded on our database to enable the Society and its Area Representatives to serve its members and it will hold the minimum amount of data required to efficiently carry out its obligations.

Presidents and Officers

Position Holder
President David Mansell
President-Elect Margaret Partridge-Keane
Honorary Vice-Presidents David Brewer, Dr Sue Baker and David Mansell
Chairman Nigel Hill
Vice-Chairmen Geoff Bryant, Toby Hickman and David Wallace
Secretary Sue McGeever
Press Officer Sue McGeever
Treasurer Geoff Bryant

Past Presidents

2019 Ann Nicholls
2018 Stephanie Poulter
2017 Jill Graham
2016 Anne Western
2015 Amanda Hill
2014 Sue Burger
2013 David Wallace (representing the late Derek Sparks)
2012 The late Jackie Ablett
2011 Joanna Webber
2010 David Brewer
2009 Rex Milton
2008 The late Eunice Prosser
2007 Marion Williams
2006 David Mansell
2005 Linda Westcott

Registered Office

Woodmans, Brithem Bottom, Cullompton, Devon EX15 1NB
Tel: 01884 839930


Treasurer’s Office

Geoff Bryant, Meggacres Farm, Megg Lane, Chipperfield, Kings Langley, Herts WD4 9JW

Telephone: 01923 266014